August, 2013
ASHI Education News
Inspection News and Views from the American Society of Home Inspectors



ASHI Chapters & Education NEws

EDITED BY ASHI STAFF

ASHI Chapter Education

NY Metro ASHI Chapter Education Seminar 2013
When: September 13 & 14, 2013
Where: DoubleTree Hotel, 455 South Broadway,
Tarrytown,     NY  10591
CEs: 16 ASHI MRCs, credit certification for NY, NJ, MA,
& CT applied for.
Contact: Victor J. Faggella, vjf@centurion-inspections.com
For detailed information and agenda or to register, visit www.nyashi.com.

Tri-State Peer Review
When: September 20, 2013
Where: Annual Seminar to be held at Temple University’s Ambler  Campus, Ambler, PA
CEs: 8 hours - NJ & NY Approval
 
Tri-State Peer Review
When: September 21, 2013
Where: It will be held in the Philadelphia Area. 
CEs: It will include a Review Inspection for 3 ASHI credits, or Candidates can get 5 ASHI credits
Contact: www.tristateashi.org

Great Lakes ASHI Chapter Fall Conference
When: September 27-29, 2013
Where: Kalamazoo, MI
Contact: Carol Batko, cmb.red@gmail.com

Great Plaines ASHI Chapter Fall Seminar
When: September 20 & 21, 2013
Where: Crowne Plaza Hotel, Kansas City, KS
CEs: 16  CE hours
Courses: Advanced HVAC, What to Do When a Claim Comes In, Deck Inspections, Electrical Panel Inspection, Inspection Quiz, Fireplace and Woodstove, and What the Heck Is That?
Contact: Mark Pence, mpence@KcHomeInspector.com

Keystone ASHI Chapter 2013 Keystone
Inspection Seminar

When: October 25 & 26
Where: Crown Plaza, Reading, PA
CEs: Approved for: 8 CE hours
Contact: www.keystoneashi.org

To have your chapter seminar listed here Email all information about your chapter seminar to steveh@ashi.org. Information also will be picked up from CE applications

.
....................................................................................................

Attention Chapters:Mark Your Calendarsfor LTC

ASHI's 2013 Leadership Training Conference will be held October 17 & 18, 2013, at the Fountain Bleu Conference Center, which is just adjacent to the Radisson Hotel in Des Plaines, IL. ASHI has obtained a room block at the Radisson Hotel for the low guestroom rate of $99/night (plus taxes), which includes the breakfast buffet.
 
Plan to attend this dynamic leadership development training program. ASHI Chapter leaders will be receiving invitations to participate in this special event to exchange ideas and develop strategies to build stronger ASHI chapters.
You'll want your chapter to be included. 

Share Your Chapter News with the ASHI Membership!
Please send event photos and details to steveh@ashi.org
Has your chapter had a recent event such as a conference, peer review, training seminar, or meeting? We would love to share your event details and photos with the ASHI Reporter
readers!

Please e-mail our director of communications, Steve Hawkins, details of the event with photos that are 200-300 dpi (high resolution). If you are sending photos of attendees, include the names of everyone pictured for the photo caption. Steve can be reached at steveh@ashi.org.

.........................................................................................................

Find an ASHI Chapter Near You Today!


NEW ENGLAND/CANADA
Alberta  
www.cahpi-alberta.com
Bert Bruinsma, 403-348-5550
Red.deer@homealyze.com

British Columbia
www.cahpi.ca
Gary Poirer, 604-220-0305
gary@walkaboutinspections.com

CAHPI Atlantic   
Blaine Swan, 902-890-0710
goodeyeinspection@gmail.com
CAHPI Ontario
www.cahpi-alberta.com
Donald J. Beneteau,
519-995-0235
don@beneteauionspections.com

Coastal Connecticut
Third Thursday, 6 pm, Westport VFW Lodge, 465 Riverside Avenue, Westport
www.coastalctashi.org
Jerome McSorley, 203-536-2500
shorelandsinspect@hotmail.com

New England (ME, MA, NH, RI, VT)
www.ashinewengland.org
Fourth Thursday, 5 pm
The Lantana, Randoph, MA
Michael Atwell, 617-630-5629
mike@jmhi.com

Northern New England  (ME, MA, NH, VT)
www.nnec-ashi.org
Bob McDonald, 207-475-7758
omnispect@gmail.com

Prairies (Alberta) (CAHI)
www.cahpi.bc.ca
Bert Bruinsma, 403-348-5550
Red.deer@homealyze.com
Quebec Assoc. Bldg. Insp.
Germain Frechette, 514-694-4350
Insp.glf@sympatico.ca

Southern New England (CT)
www.snecashi.org
Brian Dunbar, 860-605-9056
brian@kasznay.com

NEW YORK/NEW JERSEY/DELAWARE
Capitol Region (NY)
www.goashi.com
Third Thursday, 7 pm, Doratos Steakhouse and Pub, Guilderland
Robert Davis, 518-885-7949
rdavis@home-inspection.com

Central New York
www.cnyashi.com
Second Wednesday, 6 pm, Tony’s Family Restaurant, Syracuse
Dan Hager, 315-440-1237
Dhager3@yahoo.com

First State (DE)
www.firststateashi.org
Third Wednesday, 7 pm,
The Buzz Ware Center, 2121
The Highway, Arden
Mark Desmond, 302-494-1294
mark@delvalleyhome.com

Garden State (NJ)
www.gardenstateashi.com
Second Thursday,
The Westwood, Garwood
Bret Kaufmann, 973-377-4747
bretkaufmann@optonline.net

Greater Rochester (NY)
www.ashirochester.com
Second Tuesday, 6 pm, Murph’s Irondequoit Pub, Irondequoit
John White, 585-431-0067
john@iihomeinspections.com

Hudson Valley (NY)
First Tuesday, 6 pm, Greenbaum
& Gilhooley’s, Wappingers Falls
Michael Skok, 845-592-1442
ashistatewide@yahoo.com

Long Island (NY)
www.liashi.com
Third Monday, 6 pm, Domenico’s Restaurant, Levittown
Steven Rosenbaum,
516-361-0658
inspector@optline.net

New York Metro 
www.nyashi.com
Last Thursday, Eldorado West Restaurant-Diner, Tarrytown
Thomas Rooney, 914-769-2685
rooneyte@aol.com

Southern New Jersey (NJ)
www.southernnjashi.com
Third Wednesday, 6:30 pm, Ramada Inn, Bordentown
Rick Lobley, 609-208-9798
rick@doubleckeckhi.com

Western New York
Second Thursday, 6:30 pm,
Tony Rome’s West Seneca
Andy Utnik, 716-636-9676
esimail@aol.com

MID-ATLANTIC
Central Virginia
www.cvashi.org
First Thursday, 6:30 pm, Independence Golf Club, Midlothian
Ray McMurdy, 804-639-1171
ray@capitolinspections.com

Greater Baltimore (MD)
www.greaterbaltimoreashi.org
Third Thursday except July & Aug., 6:30 pm,
Snyder Willow Grove
Restaurant, Linthicum
James Rooney, 410-267-0460
inspektor@aol.com

Hampton Roads (VA)
Second Thursday, 7 pm, Cypress Point Country Club,
Virginia Beach
Guillermo Hunt, 757-245-3100
huntshomeinspections@gmail.com

MAC-ASHI (MD, VA)
www.mac-ashi.com
Second Wednesday, Rockville Senior Center, Rockville
John Vaughn, 800-767-5904
John.vaughn@yahoo.com

NOVA-ASHI (MD, VA)
www.novaashi.com
Fourth Tuesday, Associate hour 6-7 pm, Membership meeting 7-9 pm, Northern Virginia Resources
Center, Fairfax
Dave Rushton, 540-636-6200
ableinsp@centurylink.net

Piedmont ASHI (VA)
Robert Huntley, 540-354-2135
rwhuntley@cox.net

SOUTH ATLANTIC
ASHI Georgia
www.ashigeorgia.com
Richard Hart, 770-827-2200
Ashi1@comcast.net

East Tennessee
www.etashi.org
Third Saturday of Feb., May,
Aug. and Nov.
Paul Perry, 866-522-7708
cio@frontiernet.net


Mid-Tennessee
Ray Baird, 615-371-5888
bairdr@comcast.net

Mid-South (TN)
Steven Campbell, 901-734-0555
steve@memphisinspections.com

North Carolina
www.ncashi.com
Third Wednesday, 3 pm, Quality Inn at Guilford Convention
Center, Greensboro
Larry Conway, 336-669-0679
ncashi@triad.rr.com

South Carolina
First Saturday of Feb., May, Aug.
& Nov., 8 am
Roger Herdt, 843-669-3757
herdtworks@msn.com

GULF
ASHI South (AL)
www.ashisouth.org
Quarterly, Homewood Library, Homewood
Derl Nelson, 205-529-7657
dbnelson@bellsouth.net

Central Florida
www.centralfloridaashi.org
Second Tuesday, 6:30 pm
Bill Labita, 407-977-9182
hbis@cfl.rr.com

FLASHI (FL)
First Tuesday except July, 6 pm, Golden China, 11112
San Jose Blvd., Jacksonville
David Sorge, 904-484-4847
safetekk@comcast.net

Florida Wiregrass
www.ashiwiregrass.org
Second Wednesday, 6:30 pm
Hyundai of Wesley Chapel
Tom Rinicker, 813-300-5027
tom@inspectorhelp.com

Gulfcoast (FL)
First Thursday, 7 pm, The Forest Country Club, Fort Myers
Len Gluckstal, 239-432-0178
goldenrulehi@comcast.net

Gulfstream (FL)
Ralph Cabal, 305-256-7369
info@cabalinspections.com
Lone Star (TX)
www.ashitexas.org
Craig Lemmon, 817-291-9056
craig@reioftexas.com

Louisiana
Quarterly
Michael Burroughs,
318-324-0661
Mburroughs2@comcast.net

Suncoast (FL)
www.ashisuncoast.com
First Tuesday, 6:30 pm, Chili’s, 5430 E. Bay Dr., Clearwater
Kevin Koplar, 813-230-9822
inspector@koplar.net

Southwest Florida
www.swashi.com
Second Wednesday, 6 pm, Lakewood Ranch Holiday Inn,

Sarasota
Anthony Gimenez, 941-761-8503
anthony@inspectorsinc.com

NORTH CENTRAL
ASHI Central PA
www.ashicentralpa.com
Second Monday, 6 pm, except Jan. & July, Bonanza Steak House, Walnut Bottom Rd., Carlisle
William Weitzel, 717-919-5087
bill@centralhomeinspections.com

Keystone (PA)
www.keystoneashi.org
First Monday, 5:30 pm
The Inn at Reading, Reading
David Artigliere, 610-220-1907
artihi@gmail.com

Ohio
www.ohioashi.com
Howard Snyder, 330-929-5239
ohashi@neo.rr.com

North Central Ohio
www.ncohioashi.com
Craig Haas, 216-691-1208
markshomeinspect@sbcglobal.net
Pocono-Lehigh (PA)
www.pocono-lehighashi.org
Third Tuesday, Tannersville Inn, Tannersville
Ronald Crescente, 570-646-7546
amerispec@pa.metrocast.net

PRO ASHI (PA)
www.proashi.com
Second Wednesday of Jan.,
March, May, July & Nov.
Michael Ashburn, 724-516-1665
michael@ashburninspectons.com

Tri-State (DE, NJ, PA)
www.tristateashi.org
Second Tuesday except April, Aug. & Dec., Barnaby’s of America, Havertown, PA
Gary Kershaw, 215-357-0675
pluckem@verizon.net

MIDWEST
Central Illinois
www.cicashi.com
Second Monday, 6 pm
Kevan Zinn, 309-262-5006
info@inspectwithzinn.com

Great Lakes (IL, IN, IA, KY, MI, MN, OH, WI)
www.greatinspectors.org
Mark Mustola, 810-750-0000
inspectormustola@aol.com

Greater Omaha (NE)
www.ashiomaha.com
Rick Crnkovich, 402-779-2529
Rick2@cox.net

Heartland (IA, MN, ND, SD, WI)
www.ashiheartland.com
Todd Wiessner, 612-747-6382
twiessner@comcast.net

Indiana ASHI
www.inashi.com
Quarterly
Danny Maynard, 317-319-7209
danny@inspectinc.net

Iowa ASHI
www.iowaashichapter.org
Fourth Tuesday, 5:30 pm,
Clarion Inn, Cedar Rapids
Mike Tomash, 319-310-1557
tomashprohome@mchsi.com

Kentuckiana (IN, KY)
www.ashikentuckiana.org
Allan Davis, 502-648-9294
elitehomeinspections@
insightbb.com

Mid-Missouri
www.midmoashi.com
Second Thursday, 12:00 pm,
Country Kitchen, 1712 N.
Providence Rd., Columbia
Mike Rawlings, 573-449-8860
Mikerawlings111@gmail.com

Northern Illinois
www.nicashi.com
Second Wednesday, 5:30 pm,
Villa Nova Restaurant, Villa Park
Bob Schacke, 847-692-4663
Hie5@comcast.net

SOUTH MIDWEST
Arkansas
Richard Kirkman, 501-327-9794
homeinspecionplus@conwaycorp.net

Great Plains (KS, MO)
www.ashikc.org
Third Wednesday of even months,
Crowne Plaza Hotel, Lenexa
Miki Mertz, 913-268-0222
mikimertz@aol.com

Midwest PRO ASHI (KS)
Jack Koelling, 316-744-9990
jackkoelling@cox.net

St. Louis (MO)
www.stlashi.org
Second Tuesday, 6:30 pm,
Spazio’s at Westport
Frank Copanas, 314-456-0783
Acropolis-inspection@live.com

Arizona
www.azashi.org
Tony Hecht, 480-507-0837
tony@tonyhecht.com

New Mexico
First Saturday, 10 am
Charles Smith, 505-670-4442
prevuesf@gmail.com
Northern Colorado
www.ncc-ashi.org
Second Thursday, 6:30 pm,
Fairfield Inn, Loveland
Duane Younger, 720-685-3435
duane@twinpeaksinspections.com

Northern Rockies (ID, MT)
Lamar Rase, 406-531-4848
completehomeinspectionsince@msn.com

Rocky Mountain
Fourth Tuesday, 6:30 pm
Phil Tatro, 303-838-5175
phil@fspiinc.com

Southern Colorado
www.scc-ashi.org
Second Thursday, 6:30 pm,
Valley Hi Golf Club, Colo. Springs
Ken Moon, 719-570-1185
ken@kenmoon.com

Utah
www.ashiutah.com
First Tuesday, 7 pm,
Marie Callender’s, Midvale
Fred Larsen, 801-201-9583
Fred.larsen@pillartopost.com

PACIFIC
Alaska
Second Thursday, Jitters Coffee House, Eagle River
Jim Foss, 907-522-2378
jim@inspectbest.com

ASHI Hawaii
www.ashihawaii.com
Alex Woodbury, 808-322-5174
Woodburya001@hawaii.rr.com

California
Randy Pierson, 310-265-0833
randy@southbayinspector.com
Central Valley CREIA-ASHI
Peter Boyd, 530-673-5800
Boyd.p@comcast.net

Golden Gate (CA)
www.ggashi.com
John Fryer, 510-682-4908
johnfryer@gmail.com

Inland Northwest (ID, WA)
Chris Munro, 208-290-2472
chris@peakinspections.net

Orange County CREIA-ASHI (CA)
Third Monday, Hometown Buffet, 2321 S. Bristol, Santa Ana
Martin Grant, 562-243-0164
chris@peakinspections.net

Oregon
www.oahi.org
Fourth Tuesday, 6:30 pm,
The East Bank Saloon, Portland
Jon Nichols, 503-324-2000
housedetective@hotmail.com

San Diego CREIA-ASHI
First Tuesday, The Butcher Shop Steakhouse, San Diego
Glenn Schwartz, 760-613-6284
glennschwartz@cox.net

San Joaquin Valley (CA)
Third Tuesday, 6 pm,
Casa Munoz, Bakersfield
Sam Jabuka, 661-664-8629
jabuka@sbcglobal.net

Silicon Valley ASHI-CREIA (CA)
www.siliconvalleyinspector.com
Felix A. Pena, 510-573-0367
homesavvyinspections@comcast.net
Southwestern Idaho
Second Monday
David Reish, 208-941-5760
dave@antheminspections.com

Los Angeles-Greater
San Gabriel Valley
Second Tuesday, 6 pm,
Old Spaghetti Factory, Duarte
Larry Habben, 714-685-0321
habbenshome@earthlink.net

Los Angeles-Ventura County
ASHI-CREIA
First Thursday, 5 pm,
Holiday Inn, Woodland Hills
Bob Fuywe, 805-501-0733
guyerinspections@roadrunner.com

South Bay (CA)
Webinar meetings
Randy Pierson, 310-265-0833
randy@southbayinspector.com

Western Washington
www.ashiww.com
Michael Brisbin, 425-742-1735
seaviewinspections@comcast.net